Applications for 2013 are now open. Please submit applications by July 31, 2012.



Conditions of Tenure
Detailed Conditions of Tenure
The basic tenure of the Scholarship is two years, subject always, and at all times, to satisfactory academic performance and personal conduct. In some cases, and at the discretion of the Trustees, the Scholarship may be extended for a third year. In general, Scholars may enroll in:
  • A one-year taught Master's degree, followed by another in their second year subject to a satisfactory outcome to the first year; Scholars who take two one-year Master's degrees are not eligible for a third year of funding;
    • A two-year MPhil (or BPhil); subject to Department/Faculty agreement on the basis of performance in the MPhil/BPhiI, a third year of funding may be given to convert the MPhil/BPhil into a DPhil (for those in the Humanities and Social Sciences only - see Note below)
    • A two-year MSc by research; Scholars who take a two-year MSc by research are not eligible for a third year of funding
  • A DPhil either by the route of the preliminary MSt (Legal Research only) or as a Probationary Research Student (PRS); the third year of funding at the discretion of the Trustees will be dependent upon satisfactory reports from supervisors.
  • Many one-year MSc's are in fact routes into doctoral work, and moreover Scholars sometimes discover the desire to do a DPhil in that field when working on the MSc. Scholars within the Humanities and Social Sciences Divisions and normally within the Medical Sciences Division (see Note below) may take such a route and receive a third year of funding (under the usual conditions)if they agree this with the Warden before the end of their first year. In the case of both MPhil/BPhil and MSc conversions to DPhil, it is necessary for the doctoral thesis to be clearly an outgrowth of work done in the Master’s course, since beginning a wholly new topic inescapably leads to unfunded overruns.
    • A BA with Senior Status (two years); Scholars who do a BA with Senior Status are not eligible for a third year of funding.
The MFE and the MBA are only tenable in the second year of tenure of the Scholarship.

Notes for any Scholar proceeding to the DPhil via a Master's degree
    • Humanities & Social Sciences Divisions - Most departments within the Humanities and Social Sciences insist on the Master's route to DPhiI. ln view of this insistence the Trust will underwrite the fourth year of fees for Scholars within these two Divisions. The word "underwrite" is used quite deliberately. This presents quite an additional financial burden on the Trust, although theTrustees believe that it is necessary in order to give all Scholars the freedom to do the degrees they want to do. Therefore, if a Scholar is able to arrange for another sponsor for that fee, the Trust would hope that such a sponsor will assume the cost of the fee, leaving the Trust to underwrite those who cannot. Scholars are expected to make all reasonable efforts to secure such alternative funding.
  1. Medical Sciences Division - Scholars may take the Master's route to DPhil within most departments of the Medical Sciences Division. However, early advice should be sought from the Registrar of the Rhodes Trust in Oxford at .
  2. Mathematical Physical & Life Sciences Division - The Master's route to DPhil is not open to candidates in the Mathematical, Physical & Life Sciences Division. Candidates within these disciplines should apply direct to DPhil.
The Rhodes Trust reserves the right to vary these conditions at any time without notice.

Issued: April 2010